College Cooking: Fan Qie Chao Dan

one of my favorite dishes of all time!

番茄炒鸡蛋, also known as tomato scrambled eggs, is the epitome of deliciousness. If you don’t have this in your recipe arsenal – add it! It is a must have and is very easy!  This dish is so simple that it only uses four ingredients, two of which you should already have in your pantry.

Ingredients:

  • tomatoes
  • eggs
  • salt
  • sugar

There are several ways to cook this. I have tested them all, learning through trial and error, to provide for you what I believe is THE best way to make this dish. The way I like it is NOT having tasteless formless eggs mixed in with tomato, nor is it having tomato and eggs swimming in tomato water. (Trust me on this.)

How I like it is: perfectly scrambled eggs that have taste from both salt as well as the sourness mixed in from the tomatoes and the sweetness from the sugar… Once you have it in your mouth, you literally experience an explosion of flavor! Okay, I am bad at descriptions and might be exaggerating, but you get the drift.

What is the secret then?

Scramble the eggs separately. Yep, it is that easy.

I love having a nice ratio of eggs to tomatoes. Usually you should do 2 eggs per tomato – if I’m ever unsure how many eggs to use I just count how many people I’m serving, use that number +1 = #eggs I use. (I always round up for eggs… yep, my own secret method with math that has no basis! Teehee.)

1. You can use any type of pan, just pour some oil in (since I use a cast iron pan and don’t want to have anything stick, I just pour enough oil to completely cover the bottom of the pan) and wait till it gets very hot…

2. Beat the eggs and make sure to add at least a PINCH of salt – it will do wonders for your eggs.

3. Add eggs to pan, scramble, then remove from heat.

4. Add some more oil, toss in chopped tomatoes (I usually keep the skin on my tomatoes and cut them into wedges, but it’s really whatever you prefer) and let them cook.

5. The tomatoes will release a lot of liquid themselves, so I don’t recommend adding very much water unless the pan looks dry or things are sticking. Otherwise, add some sugar (oh my, I am so Asian; I really don’t do the teaspoon tablespoons) – really depends on how many tomatoes your cooking, but start with a little, mix it, taste it, and see if you want to add more! Don’t over do the sweetness – it’s supposed to accentuate the natural sweetness of the tomato.

6. After the tomatoes start to look really tender and its juices are everywhere, pour the eggs in and mix! At the end the eggs should have a nice orange tinge + bursting with tomato flavor. This dish is best served with rice. Enjoy!

close-up

4 thoughts on “College Cooking: Fan Qie Chao Dan

  1. Eric

    As good as that meal may be, you must also realize the cholesterol you can build up with all the eggs you have in that meal.

    As your healthcare provider, I must urge you to not consume this meal all the time seeing that the yolk of the eggs contains LOTS of CHOLESTEROL!

    Couldn’t you just cook this dish with the egg yolk removed?
    I am sure it would be just as tasty…right?

    Reply
  2. Ramya

    Yay, finally a vegetarian-friendly recipe from Jenny! And with staple ingredients too! Thanks! Can’t wait to try it and let you know how it goes… when I have a kitchen at my disposal that it. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

